Oakville Homes

April 1, 2012

Be afraid builders, be very afraid.

alphainventions

THE FOLLOWING IS NOT AN ENDORSEMENT OF AN INDIVIDUAL COMPANY – JUST THE CONCEPT IT PROMOTES.

Yesterday, I noticed a truck in a McDonald’s parking lot (yes, I was grabbing a snack after work) and I noticed a home inspector’s vehicle.  It advertised Gibson Inspections at www.inspectgib.com.  I know nothing of this house inspector and cannot make any comment on the quality of their work.  I visited their website to see what they offered and I was impressed with the fact that they recognized that new home construction could cause a buyer problems just as a resale could.  I noticed they offered a service that included: “advice prior to the contract and four separate inspections during construction, including the P.D.I.”  This particular section is located at this link.

I’m not sure just how many house inspectors will offer this type of service.  I know some offer PDI inspections but not necessarily a pre-PDI inspection.  This would be similar to that which commercial buyers enjoy in that they can have someone monitor the construction to ensure they get full value for their money and, minimal future problems.

Alden Gibson, the owner of Gibson inspections, has “experience as an Exclusive Custom Home Builder and Renovator”.  This explains I believe, his ability to work with a builder – he’s been there.  But, you notice “custom”.  This would be very similar to a commercial build for a buyer and I’m not sure if he would have luck with a tract builder such as Mattamy etc.  We know that Mattamy is on record for banning one home inspector and requires others to sign forms and jump through all sorts of hoops to help a homebuyer.  Not sure if Mattamy would even allow a house inspector to monitor the construction.

Jump in Gilgan if you do – I’m sure everyone would be interested.

It is this type of service that I have promoted for years and have even approached various levels of government to have this RIGHT legislated.  With no luck.  But then I’m fighting donations here.

I’d visit Gibson’s website to get an idea of what a house inspector can do.  Notice the professional qualifications and the links to various information sites.  Maybe if more people would demand such inspections in their purchase offers, you might find the builders allowing them.  It can benefit both the buyer and the builder.  Bringing shortcomings to the attention of a builder prior to closing ensures fewer problems once the purchase is done and maybe less issues with Tarion.  Although it seems no one worries about Tarion.

If a builder refuses – ask yourself why.  What do they have to hide?  We’ve already seen that advertising and awards can be manipulated so, it comes down to the final product to show what a builder is all about.  In my case, we know Mattamy will break the law to make a sale.  Who else does this?  If you have watched Mike Holmes’ show, you know it is more prevalent than one would expect.

A professional house inspector can help protect YOUR INTERESTS.

.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirement when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed.

1 Comment »

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I’m hoping to view
    the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own site now 😉

    Comment by Lillian — July 20, 2013 @ 4:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

