Oakville Homes

March 18, 2012

Donations don’t really cover up the truth – just misdirect people’s decisions.

alphainventions

Since Peter Gilgan has donated the $40million to the Toronto Hospital for Sick Chilren, I have been receiving a variety of correspondence (phone, meetings, email, etc) from various friends, relatives and acquaintances.  And, most point to the fact that it is hard to get any justice done when someone donates that kind of money.  Politicians really respond to that method of stimulus as does the uninformed populace.  If you do a bit of history research, you’ll see that this is a time-honoured method used by some less than savory people to gain local support and thus put off the authorities.  Worked for them and I guess donations work here as well.  I’ve personally seen it done.

Of course, politicians use this type of method – get the voters to think about other stuff so that the real problem gets buried.

That is the problem when builders/developers tie themselves too closely to the political/legislative machine with money.  They do not do this to ensure that we, the taxpayer, gain benefit.

The point of this blog is to point out the flaws in a system that should protect the consumer from illegal or sub-standard practices utilized in the construction industry.  That potential homeowners should have the right to hire professionals to ensure they get what they pay for.  Mike Holmes is able to show this visually and has been quite successful in pointing out the flaws in our construction industry.  Unfortunately, local politicians, who have the power to adjust the law to protect us, are more concerned about getting money from developers.  I wonder how much makes it to their own private pockets?

Just read an article in the Toronto Star about Harold Shipp, written by Pat Brennan.  Good article about a successful developer/builder.  I had the pleasure of meeting this man, along with his son, back in the early 70’s.  I was putting together an article on distinctive homes in Mississauga and he caught me taking a picture of his home.  We had a very interesting and fruitful conversation and I left with a great amount of respect for the man.  I didn’t see a man who built a reputation building homes with construction shortcuts and illegal wiring.

Also, I find people who have lawyers threaten lawsuits to be less than honourable.  You don’t fight the truth with legal threats.  You fix the problem and get the truthsayer to report same.  You once told me I wasn’t being fair, as you drove by in your Jag.  You think informing the public regarding faults in the building industry is UNFAIR?  Or, is it just that I use my experience with Mattamy to show these faults.  Let me know about other builders and show the proof Peter, and I’ll inform the public.  You see, as your lawyers will tell you – I’m forced to tell the truth when I write my blog.  I guess you’re not forced to build a high quality house for the homeowner – just minimum code.  I guess that is why you’re the billionaire and others are only millionaires.  More money spent on quality.  And, they seem to donate money to good causes.  But then, maybe they’re not trying to get into that exclusive Conrad Black club – Order of Canada.

Peter Gilgan might be able to control the politicians with his donations and, ensure that the homeowner can’t get the needed protection (allowing house inspectors to monitor the house) but, at least people will be aware of his policies and make a more educated decision on whose houses to buy.

I know from received comments and, contact from Mattamy employees what my decision would be.

P.S.  Just for the record, I am pleased that Gilgan has donated the money to worthwhile causes.  Very commendable.

Harold Shipp also has donated millions to worthwhile causes.  All he got was a plaque but, I know he’s the type of man who doesn’t need to name every public building in sight to ensure people remember him.  Quality has a way of becoming noticeable and remembered.

P.P.S For the lawyers – if you find something untrue in this blog, please inform me immediately so I can make any necessary changes.  But, bring proof.

.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirement when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

