Oakville Homes

January 21, 2012

Bloomberg Business Week recognizes consumer complaint blogs re construction.

alphainventions

First off, got one mini-Holmes job done – replacing the fireplace with a gas insert.  When Mattamy worked on it, they left two shades of concrete between the flagstones due to a repair job.  As the new fireplace didn’t need the heating slots in the fireplace wall, I asked the installer to fill the cracks if he could.  Not an issue = he matched the colour of the concrete to the old concrete.  Funny how he could do it but the original installer from Mattamy couldn’t.  Still have the Mattamy patch job though – think I’ll have this new craftsman back to do a touch up job.  At least I am getting what I paid for.

I came across a website called New Homes Directory and found an article from December 3rd, 2008 titled: When Consumers Attack.  I just love their opening statement:

As an industry, we can not ignore how social media is affecting our companies, our brands, and our reputations. If we blatantly ignore, turn a deaf ear, turn a blind eye, or just quietly deny that consumer voices on the Internet are shaping our brands and reputations, we risk the vicious attack of our very own consumers.

They equate feedback from consumers in terms of a TV show called: When Animals Attack.  You may remember this late 1990’s Fox Tv show.  They also refer to a Bloomberg Businessweek article where they discuss some issues with builders, people who suffered builder indifference and, the usual builder strategy of don’t build it right and sue the ass off anyone who dares to mention a bad build.  Hmmm, sounds familiar.

Further in the article are links to various complaint sites, some of which are obviously closed, finished or otherwise not in use.  Some may be gone due to situations where the builder has proceeded with a libel lawsuit.

One ground rule when doing a blog:  Put in only the truth.

You can’t be sued for putting for the truth.  Opinion is also allowed, unless considered a personal attack based on no substance.  For instance, I have no issues with Peter Gilgan or Mattamy donating money to worthwhile causes.

Why would I?

But, I have an issue regarding donations going to those who were supposed to protect my children from danger and the children of others who buy a home from a builder.    Would you go to a cop whom you just saw take some money from a store owner, and put forward a complaint regarding said store owner?

I doubt it.

Likewise, how can I go to a Town Council and complain about a builder when said builder donated money to the Mayor’s interest?  Same thing but, I guess cops are in a different league to politicians and are expected to be above such tactics as this.  Too bad politicians aren’t held to the same standard but only get a wink wink, nudge nudge from fellow politicians.  I know one who voted my complaint to the Province and once he was there, nothing was done.  I wonder if he recommended Peter Gilgan for the recent award (more on the award later)?

But there is one thing.  The fact that Mattamy wanted to sue me on certain issues I had in my blog and didn’t, I guess kind of shows they were true.  And, they are, as I have the documentation to back up my complaints.

And, if there is something Mattamy feels is wrong in my blog, they are more than welcome to show I am wrong – no hard feelings guys.  If you are right, the offending material will be removed and I will apologize.  More than what you and the Town of Oakville did when you did things that put my children at risk.

And the material I put forward, is valid with any builder in the world.  I only use my personal experience to show what can happen and it can be proven true.  More than I can say about some builder’s statements in the press and advertising.

.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirement when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed.

1 Comment »

  1. It seems to be nice information. Got to know the updates. Thanks for sharing this information.

    Comment by Kaminkassette — August 7, 2012 @ 2:43 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

