Oakville Homes

November 28, 2011

Mattamy – is there truth in your ads or just hyperbole?

alphainventions

Interesting how when someone prints the truth about someone, in this case Mattamy, they end up getting a letter from some lawyer accusing them of defamation.  I know truth hurts but why pay a lawyer to send a letter?  In my case, I can prove all the accusations.  Hell, Mattamy or Gilgan can prove them for me.  But then, truth hurts.

Took a visit to their website.  Now,  there is a fine example of a hyperbole.  “Hyperboles are exaggerations to create emphasis or effect. It may be used to evoke strong feelings or to create a strong impression, but is not meant to be taken literally.”

At Mattamy Homes, we value each and every customer relationship whether you are purchasing your first or your fifth home from us. We continuously refine what we do to ensure that every home we deliver is the best it can be.  We are fully committed to each and every homeowner’s needs. Throughout the building process we stay in constant communication with our homeowners so that they are always aware of the progression of their homes.

Well, in my case, I think I can honestly state that the bold parts (editor bolding) are a bit of a stretch.  And, having read some of the comments sent to me, I think I’m not the only one who thinks so.  The people in Bracebridge probably thought the website was a bit of a stretch on the truth.  What ever happened to “truth in advertising”?

And, what does Peter Gilgan have to say?

“Should you go on from here to become a Mattamy Homeowner, in my heart I know your new home will be one that you can love. As far as we know, that’s the only way to do business. “

Hard to love a place considering the shape mine was in and the shape others have been in as well.  Even Mike Holmes had a hard time loving one of the Mattamy places.  And, knowing that illegal wiring was done to close the deal, one wonders what other things were done.  It is apparent that one cannot trust the building inspectors, at least in the Town of Oakville, considering they let that one go by.  What else did they miss?  Do Peter’s big donations have anything to do with the inspection process?  I know in my case Mattamy hid behind the Mayor’s skirts and the report on their misdeeds never saw the light of day.  Why is that?  Oh, I forgot – Wellspring got a donation.

Seems there is little control on the advertising one reads and if you’re going to deal with a builder, take it all with a grain of salt.  No matter who is building, get a house inspector in there.  A good, honest, and open builder wouldn’t mind having a house inspector keep an eye on your investment.  Mattamy – they either ban them or make them sign off saying they won’t talk during an inspection.  Is that the methodology used by a GREAT builder?

Remember – the words in an ad are cheap.  True quality takes time and effort.  Something some builders don’t have a lot of.

As an aside, someone thought I was really picking on Mattamy and poor Peter.  Not really, as my advice covers any builder that you deal with.  It’s just that I have my own personal experience with Mattamy and I am aware of a plethora of other issues that Mattamy has done against other people.  I just haven’t found the same issues with Monarch, Greenpark, Tridel or other builders.  I do look but it seems that they don’t create the same problems Mattamy has been known to create.  I haven’t heard about illegal wiring, environmental damage and bully boys from other builders.

So no, I am not picking on Mattamy.  It’s just that Peter and the boys seem to operate differently than the other builders.  And, if the Mattamy lawyers can find stuff for me on the other builders, I have no issues about researching the material and reporting on it.  Maybe instead of trying to screw me to the wall, they could help homebuyers by pointing out issues and protect the homebuyers.  Maybe get a bylaw instituted that would allow a homebuyer to hire a house inspector to look after them.

But then, I guess licking the boots of billionaires for your money is better than helping people out from being screwed.  Must be a lawyer thing.  And, considering the donations, I guess the politicians have better things to do than protect the voter.

.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirement when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

