Oakville Homes

October 27, 2011

Bloggers get more protection to tell the truth.

alphainventions

Blogging gives the ordinary person an opportunity to spread the truth about a subject – something you can’t depend on the major news outlets to do, especially if the news is about a major advertiser.  Ask the Toronto Star about the F150.

But, it does come with the same responsibility that major news outlets have to adhere to and that is “libel” and “defamation”.  I can’t just spread lies about someone and not expect to be brought to task.  But, there are lies and truths and sometimes people just don’t like the truth.  They prefer lies, unless about them.

Bloggers depend on links.  Links to them and, links to material they are discussing.  These links allow them to give credit to the original writer or publisher, without having to do footnotes, end notes and endless other notes to establish ownership of the quoted works.

The Supreme Court of Canada has ruled that “hyperlinks” do not make a writer guilty of libel or defamation if the material linked to turns out to be false.  Although, if you knowingly link to libellous material, there may be grounds to bring you to court.  I don’t always agree with the Supreme Court but it is nice to see they are upholding the principle of freedom of speech.

Not all will enjoy this ruling as it does strengthen the blogger’s right to publishing and telling the truth and lends some protection to same blogger so they can’t be threatened with libel and defamation if they unknowingly link to a source that turns out to be bald-faced lies.

As you know, Billionaire Gilgan and his lawyers have threatened to pursue avenues against me in regards to libel and defamation.  Even went so far as to call me a liar with a third-party – which is libel according to Mattamy’s lawyers.

For the record – I have not knowingly told an untruth in my blog.

Now, in the case of Mattamy – when a Mattamy employee told me that it was legal to sell me my house with no electricity and the illegal wiring connected to my furnace across a walkway to a power source in a locked house next door, I do believe that is telling a lie.  It was not legal, according to the Town of Oakville Building department’s director or the Electrical Code.

In my discussions with the Mattamy lawyer I told him that if Mattamy or Peter Gilgan brought forward evidence that I put an untruth in my blog, I would consider their submission and, if found to be correct, IMMEDIATELY remove the offending material from my blog and apologize.  His response was that I was acting as judge and jury.  Hey, I’m just following the example of my billionaire buddy, Peter.  Seems he and Mattamy were also judge and jury in regards to the illegal wiring and potentially illegal sale of the house to me (used illegal wiring to ensure furnace was in operation – therefore no cause to stop sale).

So, who’s telling the truth here?  All the stuff I mention is a matter of record and the links are appropriate.  If there is any material which you feel is wrong, let me know and, if you have any material you wish to share, my email is oakville_homes@hotmail.com.

Thank God we don’t have elected judges who would be open to DONATIONS.  Although the politicians who appoint them are. 🙂

.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirement when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

