Oakville Homes

September 6, 2011

Defamation – the accusing letter.

alphainventions

Well, everyone is back from the Labour Day weekend and now hitting the grindstone.  Kids back to school and we are moving on with our lives into the fall.  Part of which will be deciding on our next home for some.  As stated earlier, Mattamy Homes decided to threaten me with legal remedies and demanded that WordPress.com close my blog.  WordPress has decided to honour “Freedom of Speech”, something it seems that Peter Gilgan, Mattamy Homes and their lawyer wish to prevent me from doing.

They have accused me of “defamation”.  I was not going to disclose the original letter until I found out they had accused me of defamation in their letter to WordPress – a third-party.  Since they have decided to openly accuse me with others, I feel it is only right that I defend myself openly.

You will find here a copy of the 2 page letter they sent me and you will note some of the areas of defamation they have accused me of publishing.  Suffice to say, I can stand by these words and have either written, verbal, eye-witness or documented proof of my statements.  I have given Mattamy Homes the opportunity to respond to my blog on many occasions and, since this is a public blog, they have had no restrictions in responding.  In fact, there have been comments by those affiliated with Mattamy Homes and I have not restricted their statements being seen by my readers.

As well, a search of the internet will show I am not the only one who has commented on Mattamy Homes.  I, in fact, have not only commented on Mattamy Homes but other builders and the development trade in general – pointing out issues that are of importance to home buyers.

I have only used Mattamy Homes as an example as I can prove the facts, if not through personal experience but through the documented experience of others.  They have put themselves on the pedestal through acceptance of awards (some state awards not rightly earned) and their own advertising.  Suffice to say, I have to agree that they are a successful builder and that Peter Gilgan has been generous in his donations.  But, I know other builders have donated but without the fanfare.  I only point out that they have failed in certain areas – in matters that have put people at risk, hurt our environment and did not perform up to the quality standards they state they are known for.  All documented.

In case you have not seen my comments in past blogs, I again state that, if there are any inconsistencies in my statements and you feel they are not true, please bring this to my attention.  If in fact you are right, I have no issues with removing any untruth.

So, please peruse the following letter and if you feel they are right in terms of any facts, let me know.  If you feel I am right and you have any points you wish to add, feel free to use the comment section.  The only deletions I have made in comments are those recommended by WordPress.com as SPAM.  Negative ( I’ve been called a jerk) and positive comments are allowed and only increase the knowledge of the reader.  This is a two-way street that allows opinion – not just my own.  I have expressed my opinion – backed up with fact.

My interpretation of the facts is my right under “Freedom of Speech” and “The Charter of Rights” and are not meant to demean Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but to prove my points.

My main point is that homebuyers need protection and the hiring of a house inspector should be allowed for new homes prior to construction so that a homebuyer can monitor the construction of the biggest investment they will ever make.  Something that Mattamy Homes has been very active in stopping (i.e. one house inspector banned and others having to sign a form silencing them during PDI)

Commercial construction allows that – why not personal construction?

Why not Mr. McGuinty and Hudak, why not????

So, here is the letter. “Billionaire against retired pensioner”

.
.
.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarrass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirement when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed.

4 Comments »

  1. Hey its Keith Chadwick from the old MattamyFairwindsPhase5.wordpress.com blog. I got a call today from a women in TO who was looking at purchasing a home in Phase 5. I did not deter her from the purchase but did inform her to go through the contract and push to see all permits and other legal material between Mattamy and the City of Ottawa before giving a penny or signing anything. Basically pursue your rights before the biggest purchase of your life. However this is not the point of my comment. The point is, 2 years after my ordeal I get a call from a prospective buyer because of the old blog. So bare this in mind, buyers who research will read what you or I have detailed and will take it under consideration and then make there own choice. So keep going because information provides a person to make there own educated decision whether we agree with it or not.

    Comment by Keith Chadwick — September 15, 2011 @ 12:47 am | Reply

  2. Keith… appreciate the comment – so true. We seem to focus (sometimes) on just the contract and what upgrades we can get. In a hot market there is no negotiating. I think we depend too much on other agencies to cover our butt and we find out, no one looks after us but ourselves and those we pay ourselves to represent our case. Bad building techniques and ethics are what is driving this – some builders really don’t care about the end result and too many families have suffered for it. Your advice is right on….

    Comment by oakvillehomes — September 16, 2011 @ 2:39 pm | Reply

  3. […] on September 6th, I wrote a blog titled: “Defamation – the accusing […]

    Pingback by Mr & Mrs Homebuyer – does your builder have a permit to build? « Oakville Homes — September 16, 2011 @ 3:20 pm | Reply

  4. http://www.attorneyasap.com/bankruptcy/United-States-Bankruptcy-Court.htm Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

    Comment by United States Bankruptcy Court — September 29, 2011 @ 1:39 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment