Oakville Homes

June 29, 2011

Do onto others what Mattamy doesn’t want done to them. Mattamy creed?

alphainventions

If you have been following the tales of Mattamy, you will have seen they have finally started to sell lots in the Fairwinds (Ottawa) area – the one where they sold lots to unsuspecting souls who believed the Saturday ads in the local paper and bought a lot only to find out that Mattamy did not have permission to build.  Couple of years later, those who had bought were given some choices, one of which was to buzz off.  Now, they did get their deposits, sans any interest but, by then prices for houses had risen.  Well, so sad, too bad for those people – and Mattamy moves on and is now selling those lots.

Myself, considering the flood concerns in that area which were brought up by qualified engineers (not accountants) and, the history of Mattamy in the Bracebridge area in terms of flood lands, I’d be double checking with everybody before I bought.  Either that, or see about buying a lifeboat for the backyard.  I think Fairwinds should be called “Titanic“. based on its maiden voyage into sales.

What I find interesting is that Mattamy wanted all concerned in the original Fairwinds to be understanding and allow them time to work out things (what – make donations somewhere) and they strung these people along for a couple of years.  Those people really gave Mattamy a fair chance to come across.  You’d think Mattamy would have learned a little more compassion from this but no.

Seems the world is expected to turn around “Mattamy Land” and dance to their tune.  It’s all or nothing for that bunch.  Yes, they’ve been caught a few times ruining the environment, putting children’s lives at risk but, they seem to get away with a lot (except for those charges in Ottawa for environmental damage) and, they run their business with little thought for those buying and their issues.  I’ve told the horror stories on these pages in the past and they reflect what I believe is the true character of this company.  Do other builders perform the same?  Glitzy ads that promise the world but you still get shafted.  I’ve heard some do and that is why weak-kneed Tarion was formed.

Well, what you are about to read is off the Complaint Board and reflects one side of a Mattamy horror story.  Mattamy is more than welcome to comment on this and give their side of the story.  Hopefully it won’t be some mouthpieces interpretation designed to protect all and any of Mattamy’s ills but actually a believable tale we might give credence to.  Given the breaks Mattamy has been given (like trying to kill my children with illegal wiring), you’d think they would help this guy out instead of crushing his dream.  You won’t see this in the Saturday ads in the Toronto Star.  Actually, as an advertiser, I doubt you will read much bad stuff about Mattamy in the Toronto Star.

Again Mattamy, I say if anything I have said isn’t true, just let me know and I’ll check it out.  I’m not afraid of the truth like those I dealt with in my case.  Remember the crap answer you gave to the Town of Oakville – fortunately the Building Director knew it was crap, unlike the Mayor.

Here is the story of one Mattamy buyer in Ottawa.

Posted by “ripped off badly” June 23, 2011
1- Mattamy Homes Ottawa started the sales for a new site in Orleans (Summerside) in late September 2010.

2- Given that I have been saving for the down payment for a new house and waiting for Mattamy’s new site in Orleans, I was the second customer in line when they
opened the doors to their sales office in Orleans on Saturday at 07:00 AM.

3- On the first day of the commencement of sales, I purchased and signed a sales agreement for lot number 30 for closing on May 2012.

4- The required down payment was $25, 000.00. I paid the first two cheques to a total of $15, 000.00 (copies of cashed cheques are available)

5- Before the cashing of the third (final) cheque dated for December 2010, I communicated with Mattamy to explain a difficult situation I was going through
and I ensured their understanding and acceptance to hold off the remaining payment until March 2011. I also ensured Mattamy’s customer services
understanding that I will not be available/accessible until March 2011. -Copies of communication with Mattamy’s customer services representative are
available and will be presented to Court.

6- Later, when I contacted Mattamy again, a different customer services representative indicated to me that Mattamy decided to re-sell my lot after
Mattamy’s lawyer decision to annul my purchase agreement – contrary to my last communication and agreement with Mattamy’s customer services – and forfeit my life savings money ($15, 000.00) which I have already paid to Mattamy.

7- Then I was informed that Mattamy has resold the same lot to another buyer at a higher price within weeks after annulling my agreement.

8- I am now left empty-handed, I lost my life savings and lost the house I intended to purchase. I lost $15, 000.00 to this big corporation (Mattamy) because Mattamy seized my $15, 000.00, did not honour their customer services’ agreement with me to hold off the last payment and furthermore, they are refusing to return my
$15, 000.00 down payment.

9- I ask Mattamy Homes to return my $15, 000.00 life savings down payment.

.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirement when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed.

1 Comment »

  1. Hey friend, I’ve just started my own online presence for my business, but there are some great ideas in the list that I really could do and hadn’t thought of at all. I would like to add this to my real estate FB , not sure how to do it yet, but I will figure it out somehow.

    Comment by Toronto condos — May 2, 2012 @ 8:49 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

