Oakville Homes

June 3, 2011

Brigette DePape and I have something in common – protest will do nothing.**

alphainventions

Today, Brigette DePape, a Canadian House of Commons page, achieved her dubious 15 minutes of fame and the adoration of all the left wingers who are making a career of being anti-Harper, by walking onto the Senate floor holding a red “Stop Harper” sign. The colour is probably appropriate considering all the Marxist supporters who are Tweeting like mad on this one. Although I may have some empathy for someone who is totally frustrated with the political system ( I had the same for the Liberal Party and NDP) and wants to express themselves, she took advantage of her honourable position as a Page to put forward a personal view. I find it interesting all the left wingers are supporting this while they condemn the police for their G20 actions. Maybe the Police were just using their position to let others know what they felt about the Black Bloc. 🙂

But, this blog is not built on making a lot of social or political comment, except to point out those failures which seemed to sometimes benefit builders and I use Mattamy as an example.

I used the system to complain about the illegal wiring that Mattamy had put in my house – wiring that put my young children at risk. But, it seems no one really cared.  I complained officially with the Town of Oakville and yes, they did send out someone to do a report on the matter but, I never saw it nor did it ever come to council. The person who did the report alluded to the fact that it would not been seen by anyone, except the Mayor. The Mayor, she was very democratic you see. 🙂

Yes, Council allowed the complaint to follow the usual channels, hoping it would go away. Even the Mayor came to one meeting, something I understand was rare. She tried to cut me a new one but, I guess she forgot I was used to dealing with lawyers. It went through the system, got to council and then was swiftly sent to the province – to die on the vine. The fact that one of the councillors who voted to send it to the province and was voted into the provincial parliament did nothing, is another matter.

So much for democratic process. And, not even an apology from Mattamy or the Town of Oakville, even though their Building director stated this should not happen. Well, it did but nothing was done about it.

So Brigette, I can understand your behaviour if you were truly frustrated with what happened.  Too bad you ruined future prospects, unless working in left wing organizations is your final goal.  You see, people respect gumption but also like to see some protocol.  How would you feel if people started to picket your parent’s place day and night and protest your actions?  It’s kind of like the graffiti  artist getting his own house done.  Mattamy, they tried the law suit and bully boy tactics on me to get rid of me at one point.  Even used a yelling lawyer.  And, I did the legal protest and handed out pamphlets.  But I did it in a public space where protests are allowed.  I tried at the Hospital for Sick Children but was asked to leave.  Poor Peter couldn’t understand why he was handed a pamphlet one moment and then some organizer snatched it before he could read it.  There were copies there Peter but if you want to see it, I have a copy I can fax you.

Well Brigette, it will be interesting what happens for the next few days but, all those who can make a change will close up and do nothing and your spot of protest will be for naught.

Make the best of your 15 minutes.

Myself, I have to live with the fact that Mattamy puts children’s lives at risk and the Town of Oakville really doesn’t give a damn.  Now, Ottawa did stop Mattamy from destroying the environment when they charged them for doing illegal landfill, etc.

Oakville got their Wellspring donation, Oakville Hospital donation and the YMCA got  their money (why did the director get dismissed Peter – I might have the answer for you).

But, no apology for me – as they say, I can go pound salt.

 

** I’ve also seen Bridgette DePage for the spelling – depends on which source.

.
.
Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti
* The above is intended to show the reader examples of how to obtain a house inspector, no matter which builder you buy from. Remember, awards and advertising are designed to make you buy, not ensure you quality. We’ve shown that awards are not the standard on which to base your decision on. My use of my experiences are not made to embarass Mattamy Homes or Peter Gilgan but, are used because they are based on fact and show the larger picture that a house inspector is a requirment when buying a house, new or old from any builder. My experience only shows that in fact it can happen and is a fact of life. Your experiences with Mattamy may have differed but do not preclude what happened to me from happening again. Beware.

1 Comment »

  1. Like Bridgette I too share in protest will get you no where as those that can help turn a blind eye and serve themselves. I spent many months in front of Queen’s park in toronto and was ignored. Those that could help would sneak out the side door even though the televsion crew was near me in the front. So then the crew would have to set up elsewhere for the interview. A gentleman took his protest to the extreme in Edmonton by protesting at the point of a gun. You see we are both fighting Workman’s compensation fraud and like many others being defrauded while the employers get paid a bonus for helping to deny our claims. I take my hat of to the young lady and though the other side enjoyed her courage they too will turn and leave her hanging as they all swim in the same “self serving cowardly little pool”

    Comment by Edward Choate — June 4, 2011 @ 1:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

