Oakville Homes

September 3, 2010

What does it mean when a developer tells sub-contractors to vote a certain way?

alphainventions

Just a short post right now… Funny how today I was told from a credible source that they had heard that a builder had told their suppliers that they, and their employees, must vote for a certain person in the upcoming Ontario municipal elections.  How they could determine how anyone could vote is a good question and I wonder how they could really enforce the issue?  Maybe they told them that to vote otherwise would cost jobs and that to vote a certain way would ensure jobs in the development business.  So, they left it up to them, vote like the builder/developer tells them and maybe the politician will ensure jobs to the developer and therefore to the sub-contractors.  Who knows?  And, if you think this stuff only happens in third-world countries – wake up and smell the coffee. 

What bothers me is that they would try to do this and what REALLY bothers me is that a supplier would actually believe they could do this.

I had a meeting of neighbours tonight (totally social) but, it was interesting when I told the story, they immediately recognized the builder and the politician in question.

Must be the reputation this builder has and the reputation the politician has in supporting this builder in the past.

I’m not going to mention the builder or politician as I have one rule in this blog – I have to ensure the facts I am given are true and since I did not personally experience it, I cannot swear to its truthfullness, except to say, I was told by someone I would trust with my life.  I just find it interesting that when I mention it, I get the same builder and same politician from various people.  Does this say something?

In any election, check who is supporting your local politician.  Do you really think big business gives money to local politicians because they like the cut of their jib?  Yeah, right.

I know my $100 donation to a certain politician won’t sway their vote but when big business gives their bucks – just who will gain support?

I’m not going to mention the builder or politician but, does it sound right for your jurisdiction?  If so, really re-consider your vote and take the time to consider – are you bought or do you want to vote the way that benefits the WHOLE community?
.
.
.
Add to Technorati Favorites

Construction Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

href=”http://blogitti.blogiche.com/”>Blogitti

1 Comment »

  1. Provincial Policy Statement

    The Provincial Policy Statement is issued under the authority of Section 3 of the Planning Act. It provides direction on matters of provincial interest related to land use planning and development, and promotes the provincial “policy-led” planning system.

    The Provincial Policy Statement, 2005 came into effect on March 1, 2005. The Planning Act requires that all decisions affecting land use planning matters “shall be consistent with” the Provincial Policy Statement…

    http://www.mah.gov.on.ca/pps/eng/pps-eng.html

    Comment by today in Hamilton Municipal Affairs access — September 8, 2010 @ 4:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

