Oakville Homes

June 1, 2009

Mattamy Homes and activisim- does it work??

alphainventions

I recently visited the Mattamy Homes website (not banned yet 🙂 ) and read a blub by Peter Gilgan, CEO. Parts weren’t bad and I must admit I have agreed with some of their philosophy in terms of urban development. Yes, SOME is the word to stress. He goes on about New Urbanism and Urban Walk Ups, with which I may have some differences, especially when they want to count a porch as landscaping. But one part stood out in particular.

“Should you go on from here to become a Mattamy Homeowner, in my heart I know your new home will be one that you can love. As far as we know, that’s the only way to do business.”

Well, if you’ve read my blog, you must realize there are a lot of people out there who aren’t in love with their new Mattamy home.  So, “the only way to do business” is to give some the flower treatment and others the cold shoulder.  Houses without electricity, illegal (code) wiring, flooding basements and, not even a permit to be built is a way to build love for a home???        Must be Mattamy’s version of TOUGH LOVE.

Well, as you know, I was denied permission to put a classified ad in the Oakville Beaver, owned by Metroland, owned by the Toronto Star, who collects big advertising dollars from Mattamy.

So, I guess I’ll do it the old NDP, CAW, TAMIL way and burn up some shoeleather by handing out information that supports the hiring of house inspectors for new homes.  Only difference is, I won’t block the highway.  It’s already been done for me by the police for the  Downtown Milton Street Festival on June 6th.  For more information on the festival, go to this link.

In the late afternoon, I’ll be handing out pamphlets and answering any of your questions.

Add to Technorati Favorites

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

3 Comments »

  1. Someone posted on a website I frequent about a problem with a new build they were buying, the builder is Mattamy in the Ottawa region, not sure exactly what location. It’s a townhouse style dev. What struck me, the build is on slab foundations, not full foundations. The slab had to be re-excavated after the build as the plumbing underneath became crushed, footers rebuilt and filled back in. The explanation was that the footings for slab were not placed properly and a load bearing structure sat without a footer and subsequently crushed the pipes. I’ve not heard of this happening before but I’m curious about the use of slab foundations in Ottawa. Is this a common practice? Slab foundations in Canada, particularly this area, would be rare.

    Comment by JR — June 1, 2009 @ 5:11 pm | Reply

  2. I know in the Oakville area, Mattamy did build some townhouses with that style of foundation. They built what looked like a regular foundation, filled it in with stone and put a slab on top of it. They then built a 3 story townhouse on top, with the first floor being a one car garage, utility room, storage and a walkout rec room.

    I hope they found the crushed pipes before the building went up.. 🙂

    Comment by LN — June 1, 2009 @ 10:41 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

