Oakville Homes

April 3, 2009

Taxpayer 1 – Developers +???

The Town of Oakville and Halton Region finally got a set of cojones and are standing up to Mattamy and the Developer power structure. The developers wanted a freeze on the development charges being raised to cover the costs of their developments. This of course would have put the burden on the local taxpayers. According to the Toronto Star article, local constituents voiced their displeasure and hopefully those councillors donated to by Mattamy et al will see the light.

Let’s face it. You buy a new home and part of the cost is the development fees. Yes, the developer/builder pays this but it is built into the house cost. It’s like joining a golf club. There is an initiation fee and then a yearly maintenance fee (developer charge and taxes).

Why should I pay for new homes in Milton? I paid my developer charges when I bought to help pay my way with my poor quality Mattamy house but I’m not paying for the pipelines to Milton. (Actually I did, but that is another story)

Gary Gregoris of Mattamy Homes said his company’s sales have dropped from a high of 100 homes a month to 50, and they had to cut prices by about $50,000.”

So, we should get involved in “developer welfare”? Mattamy might be selling fewer homes either due to the economy or poor quality. For those who paid the full price, well sorry for the drop in builder’s price but a sale is a sale. Only the speculators will lose in the short term. But Mattamy isn’t suffering. Yes, they might drop the price but I bet the house doesn’t have the same interiors, etc and god only knows how else they will save money (that’s why a house inspector is even more imperative now).  Or, maybe the local politicians and charities can expect a cut to their donations.  For the charities, I feel bad as I do feel it is worthwhile to have some of MY MONEY that I paid Mattamy being funnelled into a worthwhile cause to get Mattamy positive media exposure (beats paid advertising).  But remember folks.  Those donations are YOUR MONEY and it is YOUR MONEY that pays for the shoddy workmanship.  Better workmanship might mean less money for the self serving donations.  For the flower children of Mattamy, I know it sounds cynical but, its reality.

I’m glad to see that someone finally stepped up to these guys. Now, if we could only get the province to promulgate some legislation that allows a homeowner the OPTION to put a house inspector into the purchase agreement and protect their interests. Too radical you say? Yes, the developers don’t want to see that kind of protection written into law. They’ve got Tarion working just right for them.

Add to Technorati Favorites

http://condron.us/index.php?i=6
condron.us

alphainventions

2 Comments »

  1. […] oakvillehomes put an intriguing blog post on Taxpayer 1 – Developers +??? « Oakville HomesHere’s a quick excerptWhy should I pay for new homes in Milton? I paid my developer charges when I bought to help pay my way with my poor quality Mattamy house but I’m not paying for the pipelines to Milton. (Actually I did, but that is another story) … […]

    Pingback by Topics about Homes » Taxpayer 1 - Developers +??? « Oakville Homes — April 3, 2009 @ 2:59 pm | Reply

  2. trends watch : Taxpayer 1 – Developers +??? « Oakville Homes…

    …Better workmanship might mean less money for the self serving donations. For the flower children of Mattamy, I know it sounds cynical but, its reality……

    Trackback by trends watch — April 3, 2009 @ 6:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

